• May 21, 2018
    Last updated 2 minutes ago

complaints

Billing error

Reader claim’s he had to pay extra on phone bill

Gulf News
15:47 February 4, 2018

Billing error

I would like to raise a complaint to etisalat’s billing department. They gave me misleading information and have caused me a huge financial burden. I would like to dispute a billing error for the amount of Dh931 in the month of August 2017, as mentioned in my etisalat statement. The amount is inaccurate because incoming charges amount to Dh763. I request that the error be corrected, that any finance and other related charges to the disputed amount be credited as well, and that I receive an accurate statement.

My outgoing calls have been barred, and etisalat is not ready to take my request. They are asking me to make a full payment of Dh931 (monthly Dh161 plus a roaming charge of Dh763). After the end of the call, I received an SMS from etisalat. According to them, based on the sales team’s conversation with me, flexible minutes can be used either locally or internationally in the UAE or they can be used for incoming and outgoing calls, while roaming. At the time of enrolment, 300 flexi minutes covered all incoming and outgoing calls. Based on their staff information, I carried my phone to India for emergency purposes, for only 20 days. Please investigate this matter with etisalat’s management.

From Mr Rajesh Ananthakrishnan

Dubai

The management of etisalat responds:

Thank you for bringing Mr Ananthakrishnan’s concerns to our attention. Etisalat customer service team would want to apologise for all the inconvenience caused to him due to the excess bill amount. However, our investigation has revealed the outgoing roaming calls have been made and therefore are chargeable. We have also presented a ‘save offer’ to Mr Ananthakrishnan which was not accepted by him.

Mr Ananthakrishnan responds:

I’m sorry to inform you that until now, nothing has been done to resolve my problem despite the promises of etisalat’s “Save Offer - Data Bundle Plan”. I’m disappointed and frustrated.

Editor’s note: We forwarded the reader’s follow-up letter to etisalat for further comments, but etisalat’s management responded stating nothing further can be done, because the customer has refused to accept the offer.

(Process initiation: October 7, 2017. Response from organisation: October 10, 2017. Process completion: January 6, 2018.)

Editor’s note: Do you have similar issues that you would like to raise with us? You can write to us at readers@gulfnews.com.