matt’s corner

And the winners are: Premier League team of the year

Manchester City, unsurprisingly, dominate the most spots

Matthew Smith, Deputy Editor Sports
18:48 April 18, 2018

Dubai: Players from newly anointed Premier League champions Manchester City occupied five spots in the Professional Footballers’ Association’s (PFA) Team of the Year announced on Wednesday.

City defenders Kyle Walker and Nicolas Otamendi, midfielders David Silva and Kevin De Bruyne as well as all-time top scorer Sergio Aguero were named in the side.

Tottenham Hotspur had three nods, including striker Harry Kane, and goalkeeper David de Gea was Manchester United’s only entrant.

Prolific Liverpool striker Mohammad Salah, who has 40 goals this season, also made the team.

The PFA Team of the Year

David de Gea (Manchester United)

Copy of 2016-05-21T185720Z_106858640_MT1ACI14396419_RTRMADP_3_SOCCER-ENGLAND-CRY-MUNFACUPFINAL

Kyle Walker (pictured below) (Manchester City)
Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham Hotspur)
Nicolas Otamendi (Manchester City)
Marcos Alonso (Chelsea)

Football Soccer

David Silva (pictured below) (Manchester City)
Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City)
Christian Eriksen (Tottenham Hotspur)

David Silva of Manchester City

Harry Kane (pictured below) (Tottenham Hotspur)
Mohammad Salah (Liverpool)
Sergio Aguero (Manchester City)

Tottenham's Harry Kane celebrates scoring their second goal.