horse racing

Godolphin reclaim Champion Owner’s trophy

See off next-placed Coolmore in battle for most winners per season

Staff Report
15:20 October 16, 2016

Ascot: Godolphin were crowned Champion Owner for a second consecutive year at Ascot on Saturday.

The contest for the owner with the most amount of winners per flat racing season, started on QIPCO Guineas Day at Newmarket on April 30 and ran until the QIPCO British Champions Day at Ascot on Saturday.

Godolphin, last year’s Champion Owner, founded by His Highness Shaikh Mohammad Bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai, beat off the Coolmore partnership of Derrick Smith, Sue Magnier and Michael Tabor, winning with prize money of £4,213,524 to Coolmore’s £4,044,289.

John Ferguson, chief executive and racing manager of Godolphin, received the trophy from Her Majesty The Queen.

He said: “To win Britain’s Champion Owner title again is a great tribute to everybody involved.

“They have all worked very hard and done their best for Shaikh Mohammad and Godolphin.

“It was a great thrill to receive the trophy from Her Majesty The Queen, who sent Shaikh Mohammad her best wishes and said she hopes he enjoys receiving the trophy.”